Wallets

I am new to cryptocurrencies. I was thinking about buying Ethereum or TRON.
What is the best way to fund the purchase without paying high fees and what are the safest wallets to store it? I would rather buy it peer to peer to avoid these hight fees but there are no crypto machines or groups in my area that I know of.
I saw one wallet but it turned out that it was located in Lithuania. I’m not sure how secure that would be or should I worry about that?
My steps to secure crypto would be:
1- Get a versatile/safe wallet
2- Buy crypto from an individual not an exchange
Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you!

So, first, I’d probably suggest Bitcoin Cash if you want something you can easily spend. Dash is also widely accepted in New Hampshire by merchants here. Same to Bitcoin though the fees are so high it’s not really worth getting if you are looking for a cryptocurrency as opposed to “investing” in crypto. Don’t get me wrong, it’s been the best “investment”, but it’s power is in the control and freedom, and I’d rather promote that.