Plan to move to NH this year

Hi, I’m Dan. I’m 26 and currently live in Connecticut, where I’ve lived my whole life. I’ve been working from home (but near my work office) for almost two years now, but my company has recently become remote-first long-term, so I plan to move to New Hampshire sometime this year (probably around June, due to family events here in CT between now and the end of May).

I want to move to NH not just because I’m a libertarian (listening to Free Talk Live back in 2015 made me want to move there), but also because I love skiing and hiking (being a libertarian is why I’m choosing New Hampshire over Vermont). Because of that I’ll probably move to somewhere near the mountains in northern NH.

I found the Shire Society website (and these forums through that) about a year ago through a google search (I forget exactly what I was searching for), and decided then that I would join the forums once I have the ability to move to NH (and now I do).

I’m here on these forums for a few reasons. By publicly stating my intention to move, I feel that that will make me more likely to actually commit to moving. Also, I might first move to an apartment in southern NH (probably Manchester) and live there for a year or so while looking for a house to buy further north - since I know that more people on this forum live in southern NH, it might be nice to connect with some of them here in case I do move there. And I’m joining so I can participate in other topics on this forum.

2 Likes

Welcome, thanks for joining us and congrats on the move in advance!

1 Like

hope we can welcome you in person soon Dan!

1 Like

have you spent much time in NH?
I would think it is better than CT is every way except your family.
Just move to a place with easy access to visit them. :slight_smile:

Dope choice. I also love skiing and it’s been great to get out there more than ever.

Hello DanM, just catching up on back traffic here.