Jesse from Mn

I’m Jesse heard bout this on Facebook learned of movement on you tube took pledge a while back, looking to move spring summer but make trip out there in Feb to sell better half on idea. What should I tell her to ease her fears? Anyone willing to share thier experience with her?
I’m a union carpenter how’s the labor market for high end finish guys? And where is the hall located? We’re thinking Keene but if I could find work north country lake spot would suit me fine

1 Like

Hey, welcome!

I hear work is hard to find in the North Country.

Let us know when you are coming up in Feb!

Welcome to forum. The north is very beautiful. I think work might be easier to find in the lakes region where there are more people in the summer.

As a Union carpenter I found the pay scale in the north troubling aND rest of state a bit scary. Suppose I could always go back on the road work half the year or commute to Boston nyc.
I liked the value up north there. Being mortgage free would be nice. Wife didn’t want to be in sticks anyway. I think we’re going to come out to conference in February and take a look around. Do most attendees stay in the hotel?

1 Like

Lots of construction jobs available up this way for skilled, non lazy, craftsman.
I know a guy making $40 a hour working for somebody else. Several people making $25-30.
That may not be union scale, but if you factor there’s no state income tax, and the average NH resident commutes 22 minutes a day to work, there’s a lot of upsides.

Lots of people from Nashua, Manchester, Portsmouth areas commute into Boston every day for work… Not that I’d want to do that, but the union carpenters in greater boston have a very prolific marketing campaign. They’re always on the radio during the Patriots games.

1 Like