I’m pretty sure you would benefit from a heroic dose of shrooms.
My last interactions with cops haven’t been very bad.
I was pulled over for speeding after doing some deliveries at Sugarloaf. Speed limit was 25mph, and I was probably 10mph faster than that. The cop was sitting right by the sign were it turn back to 35 mph. The cop said “ You where going a little fast.” I handed him my license and said “Yeah, I thought it turned back to 35 already.” He asked where I was headed, and why I was in the area. We made some small talk about the great skiing conditions at Sugarloaf. He took my license and went back to the cruiser. After a couple minutes he gave my license back, and told me to take it easy. He didn’t even check insurance or registration.
I got pulled over for an expired registration last summer. It was 156 day expired, so that made it a misdemeanor. Under 150 days is a violation. The cop issued a summons and let me drive away.
The Maine court system is different than any other one I have been in. Before the arraignment the prosecutors give everyone a packet with all the discovery info, and also a plea deal. It said if I plead guilty to the expired registration, I would only get a $100 fine. “Expired registration” could be a violation or misdemeanor, but the paperwork didn’t specify which one I would be pleading guilty to. I asked, and they said misdemeanor. I asked about a jury trial, and they said any crime with the possibility of jail time can get a jury trial, no extra cost or fees. So when I went before the judge I plead not guilty. The judge asked if I had any questions, and I asked if I was entitled to a jury trial. The judge said “Absolutely”.
In Maine they have something called the “lawyer of the day”. He is basically a court appointed attorney that sits around in the hall of the court and waits to see if anyone has questions for him before or after they see the judge. You don’t have to fill out any paperwork, or show financial need to make use of the lawyer of the day. I got in line to talk to him. I explained the situation, and told him I wouldn’t plead guilty because I did not want a criminal record, but I was ok with paying the $100. I would even plead guilty to a violation. I also asked about a jury trial. He went and talked to the court clerk, and they agreed to place my case on file for 6 months if I would pay $100 in court fees. So I payed. After 6 months of no motor vehicle violations, the case was dropped.